The goal of the Science Education Partnership Awards is to improve understanding of health and biomedical
research by supporting projects that increase the scientific literacy of children, young adults, and the public at large.

A better understanding of health and research issues allows people to make more informed decisions about lifestyle and medical care that can prevent disease and maintain health. The Program also contributes to the development of future scientists and clinical researchers by exposing young people to the excitement and value of scientific investigation.

The NIH SEPA Website is managed by Baylor College of Medicine. If you have comments about the SEPA website or would like to send updated information about your SEPA project, please contact the NIH SEPA website administrator at Baylor College of Medicine, Center for Educational Outreach.

  • Meet the Consultant Team

    Tony L. Beck, PhD

    Director, Office of Science Education
    Science Education Partnership Awards (SEPA)​

    Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (ORIP)

    Division of Program Coordination, Planning,
    and Strategic Initiatives (DPCPSI)

    Office of the Director

    National Institutes of Health
    Office of Science Education - SEPA

    Address: 6701 Democracy Blvd, Room 206
    Bethesda, MD 20817-1572
    Phone: 301-435-0805
    Fax: 301-480-3819
    Nancy Moreno, PhD

    Professor, Allied Health Sciences
    & Family and Community Medicine

    Senior Associate Director, CEO

    Editorial Director, BioEd Online
    Center for Educational Outreach

    Baylor College of Medicine
    Center for Educational Outreach

    Address: 2450 Holcombe Blvd., Suite O138
    Houston, TX 77021
    Phone: 713-798-8200
    Fax: 713-798-8201
    Louisa Stark, PhD

    Director, Genetic Science Learning Center
    University of Utah

    University of Utah
    Department of Human Genetics

    Address: 15 N 2030 E Rm 7120
    Salt Lake City, UT 84112-5330
    Phone: 801-585-0019
    Fax: 801-585-9557
    Michael J. Lichtenstein, MD

    Professor of Medicine/ Geriatrics P.I. for Positively Aging

    University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    Department of Medicine-Geriatrics

    Address: 7703 Floyd Curl Drive
    San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
    Phone: 210-567-2568
    Fax: 210-567-4414
    Eric Chudler, PhD

    Executive Director, Center for Sensorimotor
    Neural Engineering

    Research Associate Professor,
    Department of Bioengineering
    University of Washington

    University of Washington
    Department of Bioengineering

    Address: BOX 355061
    Seattle, WA 98195-5061
    Phone: 206-616-6899
    Fax: 206-616-9763
  • Funding Information

    This website is currently supported (2016-2021) by a SEPA supplement to Baylor College of Medicine, grant R25OD021865 (K-3 STEM Foundations: Life Science), funded through the Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health.

    Previous Funding for the SEPA website through supplements to:

    SEPA grant R25OD011134 (Gene U: Inquiry-based Genomics Learning Experiences for Teachers and Students) at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas.

    Supplement to SEPA grant R25 RR025122-02S1 (Positively Aging®: Maximizing the Healthspan) at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, TX.
    Partnership for Research & Education in Plants program (R25RR018529)
    Virginia Tech Fralin Center
    for Biotechnology
    West Campus Drive, 0346
    Blacksburg, Virginia 24061

    West Virginia Health Sciences and Technology Academy (HSTA) Student Design Public Health Clinical Trials (R23RR023274)
    West Virginia University Health Science and Technology Academy
    PO Box 9026
    Morgantown, WV 26506

    Developed and maintained by:
    Baylor College of Medicine, Center for Educational Outreach.