The Science Education Partnership Award (SEPA) program of the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (National Institutes of Health) has made 14 grant awards to project representing institutions in 12 different states. The SEPA program supports PK-12 and informal science education activities that enhance the diversity of the biomedical, behavioral and clinical research workforce and foster a better understanding of NIH-funded biomedical, behavioral and clinical research and its public health implications.

The new project principal investigators and their institutions are listed below.

  • Fernandez, Daniel; California State University, Monterey Bay
  • Scott, Derrick; Delaware State University
  • Withy, Kelley; University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Gilliam, Melissa; University of Chicago
  • San Miguel, Sandra; Purdue University
  • Jacque, Berri; Tufts University Boston
  • Yourick, Debra Lynn; Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
  • Faletra, Peter; New Hampshire Academy of Science, Inc.
  • Amato-Wierda, Carmela; University Of New Hampshire
  • Micklos, David; Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
  • Koury, Stephen; State University of New York
  • Hill, Kathleen; Pennsylvania State University
  • Gibbons, Melinda; University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • Morera, Osvaldo; University of Texas El Paso

New SEPA project pages for the new awardees will be available soon.

News Contacts:
Beck, Tony L – PhD
Associated Institution:
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS)