Parker, Elizabeth – PhD, RD
Primary Institution:
University of Maryland, Baltimore
Department:
Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
Position(s):
Assistant Professor
Current SEPA Project

I am an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. My personal and professional experiences have led to an increased interest in the field of obesity, energy balance and lifestyle interventions to improve health and chronic disease related outcomes including cancer, particularly in populations such as minority and underserved communities at high risk for obesity. My academic training, research experience, and clinical practice have provided me with a strong background in nutrition and dietary intake methodology. I have served as the Co-I on numerous nutrition-focused clinical trials, and currently serve as the Contact PI for a NIH R25 SEPA grant, “UMB CURE Connections: an integral link in a Baltimore minority STEM education pipeline”. This program, through a partnership with the UMGCCC Cancer Center and support from the University of Maryland Greenebaum Cancer Center Support Grant (P30), provides robust STEM educational enrichment for high school scholars from West Baltimore communities as part of a minority STEM education pipeline to college and careers in these fields. As a registered dietitian and nutrition scientist, my experiences have led to an increased interest in the field of lifestyle interventions to reduce chronic disease outcomes and cancer, particularly those underserved populations experiencing high rates of health disparities.